As the name suggests, these awards will be given to companies belonging to a sector. The number of awards will be decided based on the participation of companies in each sector.


CII-EHS Leadership Award

This award is to identify the best of the best companies that demonstrate sustained leadership in raising the bar on EHS practices.

EHS Innovation Award

This award recognizes innovative practices including digital in EHS implementation to deliver results

EHS Engagement in Workforce Award

This award recognizes best practices and results through employee engagement in EHS programmes



These awards recognize best practices in environment, health and safety in organizations. It also recognizes the efforts and results in each of the environment, health and safety dimensions.



Energy / Positive Carbon Footprint Award

Given to companies that can demonstrate sustained efforts and results in reducing the carbon footprint/achieving net zero in their operations and supply chains


Water Management Award

Given to companies that can demonstrate sustained efforts in water management resulting in reduced consumption of fresh water and 100% recycling of wastewater


Air Quality Award

Given to companies that can demonstrate sustained efforts in measuring and improving air quality in their operations and ecosystem


Environment Restoration Award

Given to companies that can demonstrate sustained efforts in restoring the environment. Additional weightage will be given to companies that demonstrate a positive impact of these restoration efforts on the community. Eg: supporting livelihoods, rejuvenating water bodies, creation of parks & forests, etc.



Health at Work Award: Given to organizations demonstrating the results of implementing a range of health management practices at the workplace.



Safe Employees, Safe Communities

This award recognizes organizations for their contributions to the advancement of safety in the workplace, in homes, and communities. This award also demonstrates strong policies, processes, practices and results of exemplary women’s safety efforts.


Road Safety Award

This award recognizes the organizations for their contributions to the advancement of road safety for employees and the larger community


Women in Safety

Given to EHS women professionals who have excelled in the field as a team/individual.



CII- EHS maturity awards have been launched this year and are an evolved version of the hitherto successful CII-EHS Star Rating. They have been curated and designed by the expert panel of the Awards Committee with a view to motivate the participating companies to further move up the EHS excellence ladder, shine as role models and also benchmark their performance amongst the best of the best performers of the region. The best performers from the said applications will be given the following awards.

  • Platinum Award
  • This award is over and above the Gold Award to recognize the maturity in EHS Excellence. This will only be awarded to a select few exceptional companies. The short-listed companies will be invited for making a presentation of their EHS practices to the CII Awards Committee. The Committee will decide on the winners and the Committee’s decision is final.
  • Gold Award
  • Minimum rating of 95% in assessment
  • Should be the sector topper
  • At least 6 out of the 10 principles (listed in the upcoming pages) should be affirmative
  • Silver Award
  • Minimum rating of 85% in assessment
  • Should be one among the top 3 in the sector
  • At least 3 out of 10 principles (listed in the upcoming pages) should be affirmative
  • Bronze Award
  • Minimum scoring of 75% in assessment
  • Should be one among the top 5 in the sector

Top 10 Principles for Maturity Awards

The right tone at the top: How the organizational leadership is setting the right tone and inspiring the right attitudes and behaviours. (how EHS requirements are viewed and managed throughout the company). Is the EHS vision Long term?

Shop floor Visibility of Leadership: Leading from front? Are there enough indications of Senior and Mid-level hierarchy visibility on EHS programs & actions.

EHS considerations are integrated into routine processes: Rather than addressing EHS standards and rules after an event, how the company has implemented compliance requirements and other EHS practices integrated into processes. Proactive & Prevention strategy.

Comprehensive training: How the training needs are identified, are the basis sound, are Management hierarchy sufficiently trained? Effectiveness of trainings as measurable.

The use of leading indicators: Domain and width of Leading indicators and KPI’s to track the progression. How are they being used to track performance of both Functions and individuals.

Benchmarking: How the company is benchmarking its EHS Programmes. How is it connected to outside of its own group? Are they benchmarking against industry practices & yardsticks?

Integration with functional and business processes: How the various cross functional teams are working in coordination and collaboration (EHS & technical, EHS & HR, EHS & finance, EHS & Sales, EHS & Purchase etc.,)

EHS Organisation: Competency of the EHS teams? Adequacy? Are they up to it? Enough of visibility for them?

Budgetary considerations: Requirements are understood as important and are considered and supported during annual budgeting and planning processes.

Governance: ESG criteria; external authentications?