CII - Southern Region
EHS Excellence Awards 2019 - 12th Edition

(A Recognition for Best Practices in Environment, Health & Safety)

About CII-SR EHS Excellence Awards

Businesses in India are no longer putting in place environment, health and safety (EHS) initiatives as a matter of compliance but as a means to enhance their global standing, protect employees, and behave responsibly towards society and the environment.

In developed countries, all places of work - industries, offices, universities, medical institutions, government and social organisations - adhere to environment, health and safety (EHS) standards. But in India, an estimated 82% per cent of workplaces do not comply with EHS norms, according to a cross-sector survey of done recently. There is, however, a growing consciousness of the need to comply with EHS requirements.The survey found that all sectors uniformly increased their EHS budgets over the last few years

More than a decade, the Confederation of Indian Industry is recognising the companies with innovative and best practices in EHS through the CII-SR EHS Excellence Awards.

The Evolution

  • EHS awards was instituted in the year 2002 as Safety Awards
  • The name of the Awards has been changed to SHE Awards to give priority on Environment and Health aspects, along with Safety.
  • In 2006 the awards name has been changed to EHS Excellence Awards
  • In Safety and SHE Awards, companies were asked to share best practice presentations to the Jury, the best was selected and awarded under various categories.
  • The Award Committee decided to change the presentation module to audit system for selection of awards, which was initiated in 2010.
  • It has been grand success every year and has received tremendous response from the industries in the Southern Region.

Award Uniqueness

  • Detailed checklist by the industry/sector experts and the checklist will be reviewed every year for improvisation.
  • Well trained assessors for on-site assessment
  • Review of the assessment by the eminent industry experts.
  • A detailed feedback report to every applicant is provided to help the organisations get insights to improve their EHS performance.


  • To recognize, motivate and facilitate corporates to adopt innovative practices in EHS.
  • The endeavor is to enable Corporates to follow "path-breaking" practices rather than mere "bench-marking".
  • The Award has been instituted to acknowledge extraordinary contribution by the organizations towards:
    • Conserving critical environmental resource
    • Handling occupational health and hygiene issues
    • Promoting best practices in Safety to improve performance and productivity
    • Facilitating Innovative & efficient management practices in EHS


Companies can apply if they are:

  • Operating in South India (Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Pondicherry, Tamil Nadu and Telangana)
  • A large, medium, small, micro-sized enterprise or independent unit/division
  • From manufacturing or service and infrastructure sector
  • For Manufacturing and Services:
    Operating in South India for 2 or more than 2 years
  • Infrastructure:
    Construction site – 1 or more than 1 year


  • Benchmark your company's EHS practices with the best in class in your sector
  • Obtain valuable insights from a detailed and comprehensive assessment by independent CII nominated EHS experts
  • Leverage the CII star rating to improve your company's reputation in your sectors to positively influence stakeholder
  • Gain insights and opportunities for improvement

Assessment Objective

    • Objective of EHS Assessment for an organization is to identify the EH&S implementation methodology for all of their identified stakeholders and level of implementation
    • To have an unbiased and common framework of evaluation across industries.
    • The external audit is also a measurement of how well an organization's EHS management system is being implemented throughout all areas of the workplace.
    • An expert panel to evaluate the performance basis the common assessment criteria.
    • The method of assessment would also help the participating organization to get a feedback on their EHS practices.
    • To gather and provide a platform to share unique best practices which are typical to their work culture and help larger industry forum to excel in EHS Practices.

Assessment Process

  • Review of Assessment Checklist, Syllabus, Training Material, Mailer Content, Website etc. by the Award Committee Members
  • Application for nomination - Online Submission
  • Pre-Assessment Dossier - Online Submission
  • Assessor Registration – Online Submission
  • On-Site Assessment – Online Scheduling
  • Review of the Assessment by the Eminent Assessor Jury Panel
  • Assessor Jury Panel submits the feedback to the Award Committee Members
  • Review of the Assessment Framework, Documents and Dossier, Best Practices by Award Committee Members
  • Winners selected as per defined categories
  • Grand Finale Awards Ceremony
  • Feedback provided to the organization after the award ceremony – online Submission by CII

Assessment Methodology

The assessment has been made more comprehensive to include aspects such as:

EHS Organization & Management

  • EHS Management System & Approved Audits
  • EHS Policy & Communication
  • EHS Regulatory Compliance
  • EHS Programmes, Initiatives & Events
  • Program EHS Targets (Goals & Objectives), Measurement & Monitoring
  • EHS Organisation, Structure, Roles, Responsibilities & Involvement
  • Internal EHS Assessments/Audits
  • Management Focus & Commitment - Management Review

Fundamental & Key EHS Programmes of Assessment

  • EHS Impacts & Risk Controls
  • EHS Operational Controls Procedures
  • EHS Training and Awareness
  • Emergency & Abnormality Prevention and Response

  • Handling of EHS Failures, Defects and Anomalies
  • Health and Hygiene
  • Reduce, Recycle, Reuse & Disposals of Resources
  • Environmental Sustainability
  • Engaging EHS Outside the Boundary/EHS in CSR
  • Advocacy (Statutory Reformation Initiatives)
  • Fire Management
  • Warehouses, Chemical Storages & Material Handling
  • Chemical Process Safety
  • Contractor Safety Management (CSM)
  • Management of Irregular, Non-Routine, Non-standard & Non-Production Jobs
  • Machinery & Mechanical Safety
  • Electrical Safety
  • Premises, Facilities & Infrastructures
  • Construction Safety
  • Ergonomic & Behaviour Based Safety (BBS) Programmes
  • Food Safety & Hygiene (For Canteen & Food Industries)

The assessment is conducted over a period of two months by a pool of CII-EHS Excellence Awards Certified Assessors from diverse professional backgrounds that spend approximately 350 man-days. The results of each assessment is reviewed by a preeminent Jury, and at the final decision.

The Award Committee Members

Paresh Thakkar
Sr Vice President & Group Safety Head

JSW Group
C S Divakar
Head - EHS & Industrial Engineering

Saint-Gobain India Pvt Ltd
K. Ramesh Ramalingam
Associate Vice President - Risk Services

Cholamandalam MS Risk Services Pvt Ltd
Zachary Mendiz
Global Marketing Manager

Dupont Sustainable Solutions
P Rajmohan
DGM - Health, Safety & Environment (HSE)

Toshiba JSW Power Systems Pvt Ltd
Sona Saptarshi
Site Head - HSE - BCM

Novartis Healthcare Pvt Ltd
Aruna C. Newtonn
Global Head- Diversity & Inclusion, Sustainability Governance & Reporting

Infosys Ltd
Saravanan Ramalingam
Team Leader - EHS

Saint-Gobain India Pvt Ltd
R Shankar
Head - Quality , EHS, Sustainability & Business Excellence

Tata Projects Ltd
Dayananda L
Head - EHS & Risk Management (Retired)

Bosch Ltd., Bangalore